New York Driving While Intoxicated Lawyer
A New York Driving While Intoxicated Lawyer knows that no one ever plans on being pulled over and arrested for driving drunk. You can be out with friends, or simply have had one too many drinks while attending a social occasion, and before you know it, you are being stopped for a DWI. If you have found yourself in this situation, you are likely feeling humiliated and unsure what your next step should be. New York has very strict penalties regarding DWIs and it is very important to contact a skilled New York DWI Lawyer from our team at Stephen Bilkis & Associates, PLLC. You could be facing loss of your license, fines, probation and even jail time.
If you have been charged with a DWI in New York, you can be sure that the District Attorney will probably take your charges very seriously. Prosecutors will most likely be looking at your blood alcohol content (BAC), whether anyone was injured, and if there were minors in the vehicle at the time you were arrested (Leandra’s Law). What is concerning is that even if your BAC was less than .08, it is still possible to be charged with a DWI, based on testimony from the police that you appeared intoxicated. If your BAC was higher than .18, the penalties and restrictions can increase even further.
Penalties of a DWI can include:
- License suspension if your BAC was over .08
- Up to a maximum of one year in jail
- Up to thousands of dollars in fines
- Revocation of your driver’s license
- If your BAC was higher than .18, up to a $2,500 fine
- If this is your second DWI in 10 years, you are facing a felony charge, up to a thousands of dollars in fines and up to four years in prison.
The judge can also impose an alcohol treatment rehabilitation program and/or community service at their discretion.
A New York Driving While Intoxicated Lawyer can tell you that you can ask for a hardship hearing after you have surrendered your license at your arraignment hearing. This hearing can give you a chance to explain to the judge how it would be an immense hardship to have a suspended driver’s license. If it is granted, you will be able to travel to and from work. Also, it is important to know that after you initial 30-day license suspension, you can go to the DMV and request a conditional license. This license will be in effect until your case in concluded.
Dealing with a DWI charge alone is extremely difficult. It is important to have the knowledge and experience of a skilled New York Drunk Driving Lawyer to help your legal process go as smoothly as possible. Contact the law office of Stephen Bilkis & Associates, PLLC for advice. Your first consultation is completely free. Whether you have been charged with a DWAI, a DWI or an Aggravated DWI, we can defend you. Contact our office at 1.800.NY.NY.LAW. We have office locations in New York City, serving Manhattan, Brooklyn, the Bronx, Staten Island and Queens. On Long Island, we have locations in Suffolk County and Nassau County, as well as Westchester County. Call us today for your appointment.