Nassau County DWI Lawyer

A Nassau County DWI Lawyer can tell you that being charged with a DWI in New York is a humiliating experience. Despite your shock at being charged with a DWI or DWAI, it is important to take immediate action and contact an experienced Nassau County DWI Lawyer from the Stephen Bilkis & Associates, PLLC team. In New York, Vehicle and Traffic Law 1192 define a DWI offense as operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08%. It is important to speak with a skilled New York DWI Lawyer from our office to ensure that your rights are protected. You could be facing serious penalties, including jail time, fines, probation and loss of your driver’s license.

If you have been stopped for driving under the influence, there are several charges possible, which include:

DWI: You can be charged with a DWI if you were operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol level of .08%.

Aggravated DWI: If you were operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol level of .18% or higher, you can be charged with an Aggravated DWI.

DWAI: You can be charged with a DWAI if you are found to be operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol level of .05%-.07%.

DWAI/Drugs: If you are found to be impaired by anything other than alcohol and are operating a motor vehicle, you can be charged with a DWAI.

A charge of either a DWI or DWAI is can bring serious penalties, so it is important to speak with a Nassau County Drunk Driving Lawyer from Stephen Bilkis & Associates, PLLC as soon as possible.

Penalties for DWI: A first time DWI charge is a misdemeanor. The penalties can include up to 1 year in jail, a fine, a 6-month suspension of your driver’s license, and 3 years probation. A second DWI within ten years can be classified as a Class E Felony DWI. This is punishable by 1 year in jail, a fine, 3 years probation, and revocation of your driver’s license for one year.

Penalties for DWAI: This charge is considered a traffic infraction, so it is not marked on your permanent record. Punishment for a first offense includes 15 days in jail, fines, and a 90 day license suspension. A second offense is punishable by a maximum of 90 days in jail, fines, and a 6 month license suspension.

A DWI charge is serious and can bring significant penalties. It is important to speak with an experienced New York DWI Attorney from Stephen Bilkis & Associates, PLLC as soon as possible. We can create an aggressive defense strategy and want to ensure that your rights are protected. When you come in, we can provide you with a no-strings attached, free consultation. We have offices serving New York City throughout Manhattan, the Bronx, Brooklyn, Queens and Staten Island. We also have locations in Westchester County, as well as Nassau County and Suffolk County on Long Island. Call us today to schedule your free consultation at 1.800.NY.NY.LAW.

CONTACT US FOR A FREE CONSULTATION
1-800-NY-NY-LAW (1-800-696-9529)