Long Island DWI Lawyer

A Long Island DWI Lawyer would agree that being charged with a DUI or DWI is a humiliating and confusing experience. If you are convicted, you could be facing serious penalties including jail time, substantial fines, loss of your license and probation. In New York, a DWI is set forth in Vehicle and Traffic law 1192. Driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or higher qualifies as a DWI. If you have been charged with a DWI, it is important to contact an experienced New York DWI Lawyer from Stephen Bilkis & Associates, PLLC as soon as you can. The more quickly you receive legal guidance, the better result you may have with your legal proceeding.

If you have been stopped by police and charged with driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, you could be charged with the following offenses:

DWI: If you were found through a Breathalyzer, blood or urine test to be operating a motor vehicle with a BAC of .08% or higher, you could be charged with a DWI.

Aggravated DWI: It was determined that you were operating a motor vehicle with a BAC of .18% or higher, you could be charged with an Aggravated DWI.

DWAI: If it has been determined that you were operating a vehicle with a BAC of between .05% to .07%, or you are substantially impaired by a substance other than alcohol (drugs), you could be charged with a DWAI offense.

The penalties for these offenses are as follows:

Penalties for DWI: A DWI is classified as a misdemeanor. A misdemeanor is defined as any crime that is punishable by one year or less in jail. Punishment for a DWI charge is up to one year in jail, and/or fines, a 6-month suspension of your driver’s license, and 3 years probation. If this is your second DWI charge within the past ten years, the crime is classified as a Felony DWI. A felony DWI is punishable by up to one year in jail, fines, 3 years of probation, and the loss of your license for one year.

Penalties for DWAI: A DWAI is classified as a traffic infraction. The penalty for a first offense can include up to 15 days in jail, fines, and a license suspension of 90 days. A second DWAI may bring you up to 90 days in jail, fines, and a 6 month license suspension.

If you have been charged with drunk driving, a DWI or other related charge, it is important for you to reach out and speak with an experienced New York Criminal Attorney from Stephen Bilkis & Associates, PLLC. We can create an aggressive defense strategy for your case and ensure that your rights are protected. When you come in, we can offer you a free consultation and legal guidance. We have offices to serve you throughout the New York area including Suffolk County and Nassau County on Long Island and Westchester County. In New York City, we have offices serving Manhattan, Queens, Staten Island, Brooklyn and the Bronx. Call us today at 1.800.NY.NY.LAW.

CONTACT US FOR A FREE CONSULTATION
1-800-NY-NY-LAW (1-800-696-9529)